RSS Feed

Day #279: The Singing Housekeeper


The Story:

*
If you are working late, there is a chance you may hear a tune or two.

You may not know what it is at first, a low humming or a distant radio, you think.

If you listen closely though, the question is no longer what is the source but who?

*

It happens just as you hit the wall.

That fifteen minutes between 4:45 and 5:00, when time seems to meander and lose itself a bit.

It happens as you decide to call it a day, time to grab a glass of wine or maybe a highball.

*

Slowly it drifts towards your ear.

It perks your curiosity, its tune foreign and odd in these stale hallways.

Slowly it grows louder and you are struck frozen, waiting, wondering if the singer will ever appear.

 

As you sit, quietly in the bathroom stall…

You hear it again, the noise now familiar, like a secret you’ve kept for years.

As you listen, you think ‘do they know I’m listening through the wall?

*

Few have met the mysterious songstress.

I am one of the lucky.

Few have stopped to pay attention, or smile at the strange singing as she wipes up another mess.

*

She is the custodial jewel of this office.

The singing housekeeper will always sing a tune, although I couldn’t say which one.

She is protective of her melody, so I don’t linger, just nod to say ‘thanks’ for the music a gratis.

Hint #29: Singing loudly as you work makes even the most menial task enjoyable

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      I heard her once before, she was belting out a heartfelt ballad, but I’m pretty sure it was either in Spanish or she was a little foggy on the words (and decided to fill the gaps with her own). She’s one of those phenomenon that makes you glad you are part of the human species, at least it makes me glad I am. I call her the ‘singing housekeeper’ and I had the pleasure of a private performance today as I sat in one of the stalls of the third floor bathroom. I must admit, I lingered a little, I wanted to get a whole heaping of her strange humming/singing before leaving for the day, its not every day you get such an intimate serenade. She’s not very good, pretty sure she’s tone deaf, but if you were to catch her as she worked, mopping a floor or restocking toilet paper, all the while singing loudly, you’d get my fascination. Then again… maybe not (your loss).

No... these are not my feet

Love & Squirrels.

 

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

One response »

  1. lingering in the toilet Hum!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment