RSS Feed

Day #355: I’m the Easter Bunny

Posted on

The Story:

“Okay Judith, what gives? You’ve been pouting around all day and I’ve just about had it,” Sam threw her an ‘I mean business’ look to which Judith simply scowled before sticking her tongue out at him. After several more minutes of poking and prodding, Sam finally got Judith to tell him what was bothering her.

“The Easter Bunny, okay? That’s what’s bothering me,” Judith pouted and threw herself onto the couch, burying her face in the cushions.

“The Easter Bunny? I don’t get it,” Sam replied, obviously not following.

“Easter was always my favorite holiday as a kid- getting a basket full of treats, hunting for candy, a huge brunch and everyone is really happy at church… it’s spring so the weather is great, the flowers are blooming, everyone is in their pastels and whites, I don’t know, it’s just always been this really great day, and now…” Judith spread her hands to indicate the darkened living room where she and Sam were sitting, still in their pajamas. “I mean, we haven’t even gone outside yet and it’s 2pm… it’s just, I don’t know… disappointing. I mean, I didn’t even get a chocolate bunny,” Judith looked like she was about to cry.

Sam sat silently, listening to Judith’s concerns and tried to understand. Having never really celebrated the holidays, it was difficult for him to comprehend what the big deal was. “I’m sorry, Judith. I didn’t realize what a big deal all that was to you,” was all he could figure out to say. The two sat there in silence for several minutes before Judith let out a huge sigh and bounced off the couch.

“This is stupid, I keep waiting for someone else to do all this holiday stuff for me and I just realized…” Judith paused and shook her head.

“What? What is it?” Sam asked, wondering if Judith was about to break down into another tantrum. It would be the fourth that day.

“I’m an adult! I can get my own chocolate bunny! I can do all the decorations and Easter baskets and giant dinners! I can do all of it and it will be exactly the way I want it to be! I just realized, I’m the Easter Bunny!!!” Judith did a little jig and even clicked her heals.

“And the first thing I’m going to do… buy myself a dang chocolate bunny,” Judith exclaimed before grabbing her purse and running out the door.

Sam sort of just sat there for a few seconds, mystified yet again by the dramatic emotional shifts his beloved was capable of. Just as he was about to settle in for the Julie Andrews marathon (a secret guilty pleasure of his) the front door was thrown open and Judith ran back inside.

“I forgot to put on clothes…” Judith yelled as she breezed past him towards the bedroom, still wearing nothing but an over-sized ‘sleep’ shirt and little else.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      I love Easter. It’s an awesome holiday for lots of reasons. Unfortunately, I was a bit distracted this year and didn’t really get around to doing much for this special day. So when today rolled around, I was sorta bummed that it was going to be like every other Sunday. ‘How,’ I thought, ‘could I make this day special?’. Chocolate bunny. That’s how. So I got myself a chocolate bunny… or what I thought was a chocolate bunny. Since it was day of, Walgreens was clearing all their holiday stuff so there was slim pickins’ by the time I got there this morning. All I found was a ½ lb bunny that I immediately grabbed up before the stock boy could take it to God knows where. It was only upon bringing this ginormous bunny home did I realize it was actually… a milk chocolate flavored bunny. Seriously? Oh well, it’s probably a blessing that it turned out to be a crappy knock off… cause I guarantee I would have tried very hard to consume all ½ lbs. of that bad boy… ears first of course.

Timeless.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

One response »

  1. try church on Easter Sunday its great for what ails you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

