RSS Feed

Day #350: As You Wish (but not really)

Posted on

The Story:

Returning to Work After Being Sick…
As Told Through Pictures of Westley from The Princess Bride

8:00 AM- First day back to work.... feeling good. Let's have a great day, everyone!

8:30 AM- Wowie... are all these emails seriously for me? Well, better get crackin!

11:00 AM- Come on day... I'm only one person! Can ya cut me some slack?

12:30 PM- This is getting re-god-damn-diculous! There, now you've made me use my outside voice, hope you're happy...

2:15 PM- Jeez... can everyone just stop asking me for everything for like 5 minutes? Ugh....

4:00 PM- That's it... I'm going home.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:     As I drove into work today after being out since Friday afternoon, I was actually looking forward to getting back and was pretty chipper upon arriving at my office. Fast forward through the day and about 100 emails later, 40 students asking all kinds of bizzaro questions and a number of other obligations and by mid-afternoon I was spent. Still not feeling 100%, the day took a toll on yours truly and sometimes I need to use pictures to express myself- enter Westley from one of my favorite movies, The Princess Bride. I think he handled the retelling of my day quite nicely, don’t you?

HINT: I'd say 'yes' if I were you

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

3 responses »

  1. I hear you! Sometimes it’s easier to work sick than to be gone and have to go back to stuff piled up! You confirmed it, I must go watch princess bride again this week!

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on Guess What I Did Today? and commented:

    Came upon this gem this morning and thought it appropriate for today.

    Having to fulfill my civic duty yesterday in the form of a jury summons, I returned to the office this bright and shiny Tuesday morning to an onslaught of emails, questions and papers jammed under my door.

    So, while I was not ‘out sick’, returning post-absence of any kind seems to bring about the same results- a whole lotta catch up. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

