RSS Feed

Day #339: Pointless Policy

Posted on

The Story:

Room 331
10:00 am – 11:00 am
Policy 89-9012.34 Review Workshop

Please remember to sign in

“Ok everyone, let’s go ahead and get started. Now I think we will probably need the entire hour, so let’s try and hold all questions until the end of the presentation. The policy we’re going to review today can be a bit cumbersome to navigate, so I’m going to break it down as best I can. Policy 89-9012.34 can be found on page 133 of your booklet…”

32 minutes later

“So that basically wraps up the policy. Now that you have a general understanding, lets go over a few case studies with the group at your table to determine what you would do in each scenario based on the information you just learned. Let’s spend about twenty minutes on this, ok? Great, go ahead and get started.”

33 minutes later

“Wow, look at the time. I heard a lot of great answers from everyone, good stuff people. Now, it behooves me to inform you that all of this will change next quarter and none of what we went over today will be relevant. Ok, so looks like we ran a bit long so unfortunately we will not have time for questions as we have to give up this room for the next meeting. Don’t worry though, there will be plenty of time to ask your questions in two weeks during the ‘refresher’ workshop. Thanks for coming!”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Ever learn something that was immediately discounted or nullified by information that, had it been given a few minutes earlier, would have saved you a heap of time- or more specifically the exact amount of time it took you to learn and process the outdated material? Yeah, so I attended a workshop regarding a particular university policy that I believed to be extremely relevant to the work I do. I was actually excited to gain some addition insight and perhaps learn something new regarding this policy. Well, I learned something new alright, I learned that although we were about to spend an hour learning about this policy it wouldn’t matter in a few months- since the policy was being overhauled and completely changed. Awesome. Can I tell you something? Just between us? If you are about to lead a workshop on a subject that you know will be completely irrelevant in a very short time, please don’t tell your participants, it really doesn’t help the group morale, and you might as well forget about participation. What a complete waste of time. Oh well, it got me out of my office for an hour… so that’s something.

Love & Squirrels.

 

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

Leave a Reply

