RSS Feed

Day #336: Tummy Talk

Posted on

The Story:

“Listen, it’s really not that bad… you’ll get used to it. Hang in there for a couple of days and you’ll see, it will get easier, I promise.”

Audible grumbling

“No, you cannot. Sorry, but I’ve made a promise and I aim to stick to it. I think you are really making this a bigger deal than it is… I mean, it isn’t the end of the world you know.”

More grumbling- this time angry

“Oh stop it! You are being ridiculous and I will not give in to bullying so you can stop right there. Find something to preoccupy yourself with- you have to have other things you can do…”

Silence

“You mean you don’t have any other interests? This is what you concern yourself with 100% of the time? How can that be?”

Low grumbling

“Yes, I realize that, but I just thought… oh, I don’t know what I thought. I shouldn’t be surprised, I guess. I mean, after all, you are…well, what you are…”

Silence

“Oh don’t be like that, I didn’t mean anything by it. You can’t help what you are and what you do. I wouldn’t be the same without you, that’s for sure. My point was, I just can’t keep giving into you so much, understand? I’ve got to focus on the whole a bit more and not so much on the parts- or more specifically, your part. You’ll thank me for it later, and these first few days won’t even be a blip in your memory, just wait. So can I count on your cooperation?”

Silence

“I’ll take that as a ‘yes’. Thanks, it’ll be great, just hang in there with me, tummy, and at the end of this we will both be smaller and healthier, ok?”

"Ok, but this sucks!" ~ Tummy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      If I had my way, I would have the metabolism of a cheetah, the motivation of a marathoner and the discipline of a yogi… that was this battle to get healthy (and slimmer) would be a piece of cake (oh God, why did I have to say ‘cake’?!?). I’ve never been one of those girls who could eat anything she wanted and not gain a pound. I’ve also never been one of those girls who loved to exercise or found it enjoyable in the least. I only run if something is chasing me and even then I bet I’d weigh my options. Lazy? Hell, yes. Proud of it? No, not really but it’s reality for the most part. I like to eat, I don’t like to move- bad combo, I know. I’m working on it. Up until this week I’ve taken up walking for ½ hour on my lunch break. But, with the Orlando temps sitting pretty in the mid-80s this routine is quickly proving to not work out for my ‘afternoon look’ (aka I’m sweating through my shirt for the last three hours on the job as I wipe runny eye makeup off my cheek where it inevitably ends up). I’ve also started to track my caloric intake with a nifty little online tool called MyFitnessPal.com. You punch in your goal weight and your stats and it comes up with how many calories you are supposed to eat in a day. Apparently, my magic number is 1330. Not going over is proving to be- challenging. My stomach especially is not happy with this new arrangement of limiting what I put in my gullet and has been audibly complaining all night. I guess it’s going to take some time for both of us to get used to this new lifestyle, I just hope it works (cause if not, Tummy is going to be pissed!).

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

One response »

  1. try taking your walks in the evening and don’t over do it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

