RSS Feed

Day #320: Yarding

Posted on

The Story:

“Wow Jenny! You look great! You’ve got to tell me what you’re doing, I’m stuck in a rut and can’t seem to shed these last ten pounds,” Darcy exclaimed as she greeted her friend. It had been six months since they had last found time to catch up and Jenny must have dropped at least two dress sizes in that time. Not only that, her arms were tanned and toned and her legs looked amazing.

“Oh thanks Darcy, I guess I have lost a few pounds,” Jenny coyly replied as she returned her friend’s embrace.

The two women followed the hostess to an outside table and after placing their drink orders, Darcy pressed Jenny again for her weight-loss secret. “Come on Jenny, you look like you did in high school, it’s insane how fabulous you look! So seriously, you can’t keep me in the dark on this, I really must know what you’re doing!”

Seriously Jenny if you don't tell me, I may just have to stab you with my fork... ha ha ha... no really.

Deflecting probing questions like this for several more minutes until successfully distracting Darcy with a question about her budding romance with ‘Jake’ who she met online, Jenny attempted to eat her salad and hoped her friend would finally just drop it. She got through about half of her grilled chicken entrée before Jenny, between mouthfuls of baked potato, picked up her line of questioning right where she left off.

Finally, Jenny had had enough- Darcy had worn her down, “Ok, ok I’ll tell you. It’s really no big secret, I mean it’s all the rage in South America and parts of Europe. It’s called Yarding. There’s a Yarding class I joined at the ‘Y’ that meets every other morning. It’s pretty fun, it’s a group activity that works every muscle group and you’re sweating within minutes. The class meets outside and it’s been so rewarding to get out in the sun, out of the gym- I tell you, Darcy, I hardly notice when the hour is up. I’ll admit, I thought it was a bit weird and mostly hype when I first started, I mean the idea of going to people’s yards and doing exercises based on what I would have considered basic yard work sounded pretty ridiculous. But, as you can tell, the proof is in the pudding, it’s the only exercise routine I’ve been able to stick with for more than a few months and I absolutely love it”.

Darcy started at her friend, her fork frozen in midair as she attempted to process what Jenny had just revealed. “Let me get this straight… you pay for a class where you basically go around to people’s yards and do their yard work for them???”

Jenny knew how crazy it sounded, especially now that she said it out loud, but despite feeling a little sheepish she nodded proudly and took another bite of chicken while she waited for Darcy to tell her she was insane.

“So…” Darcy started, taking a bite of her potato and only continuing her thought once she had thoroughly chewed and swallowed the bite, “where can I sign up?”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Not having a lot of cash to do much this weekend, we decided to stay home and do some yard work today. Holy cow… talk about back-breaking work. We were out there for a good six hours or so and did a bunch of raking and bagging leaves, pruning, sweeping and we cut down a scraggly looking tree in the front yard (oh yeah, I totally swung an axe today, no big deal). After using just about every muscle in my body, I wonder if I have unknowingly stumbled upon the newest exercise craze- Yarding!

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

One response »

  1. come on up here I’ll give you lots of yarding. see ya soon

    Reply

Leave a Reply

