RSS Feed

Day #319: Why Do I Always Fall Asleep In the Car?

Posted on

The Story:

I have several theories:

  1. Rather than deal with the stress of not being in control, I ‘opt out’. I let the swaying rock me, the wind and sun soothe me, and I close my eyes. Before I know it, my head drops to my chest- I am asleep.
  2. Being the passenger allows me the freedom of observation, but after several minutes, taking in the world begins to overwhelm. The sensory input is too great, too many sounds, too many smells, too many things to look at, read, think about and watch fly by. Perhaps my brain is like a computer and unable to take in and process all I see as I zoom past it simply goes into ‘sleep mode’ when it cannot take anymore.
  3. Perhaps it’s something I never stopped doing from the time I was a fussy newborn. Desperate for me to stop crying and just sleep, even if for a few hours, my mother would strap me into my car seat and take me for a drive. Apparently this method was the only thing that would work, and within minutes I’d be fast asleep.
  4. It’s preferable to having to make small talk.
  5. It’s an involuntary reaction, like yawning after watching someone else who just yawned.
  6. My love of sleep knows no bounds.
  7. The vibrations hypnotize me into a semi-conscious state.
  8. It’s a passive aggressive way of shoving it in the driver’s face that I can fall asleep at whim and they cannot.
  9. My eyes get tired of squinting and finally just shut. Once my eyes are closed, I might as well take advantage and settle in for a few winks.
  10. Maybe, I’m just tired.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Do you know anyone who, after several minutes of riding in the car with you, begin to drift off to sleep? Well, you do now. Like newborn babies lulled by the vibrations and movement of the car me and my fellow sleepyheads grow quiet and eventually are playing the ‘head bobbing’ game before falling asleep completely. I don’t know what it is, but if I’m riding shotgun for any more than 20 minutes you can almost count on me falling asleep- or struggling not to. As a wee babe, my mom told me the only way she could get me to sleep those first few months of life was driving me around the block several times so I wonder if that somehow became ingrained in my ‘what makes me ME’ makeup. It happened today, on the way to meet Andy’s mom and grandparents for dinner. Before we were even half way there, I had fallen asleep…

Love & Squirrels.

 

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

2 responses »

  1. Love the pictures and I though I’m too controlling to fall asleep in a car– I have fallen asleep while writing.

    Reply
  2. I’m so jealous. I’ve always wanted to be the type of person to fall asleep in cars, but I get too fidgety & can never get comfy, thus I can never, ever sleep in cars.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

