RSS Feed

Day #307: SPlell Cheack is’nt WarCKing


The Story:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:     At work it is a relatively common occurrence for my coworkers to ask me to ‘proof’ something they’ve written, confident that somehow my Literature degree translates into me being a walking, talking grammar/spell-check. The jokes’ on them though, as I may be the very worst speller I know and if it weren’t for spell check, I would be the laughing stock of the office (and English majors the world over). While proofing something for my boss today, I found a few glaring errors that spell check should have caught but missed somehow. Upon further investigation his spell check function didn’t seem to be operating correctly (or at all) as it missed words like ‘rofession’ and ‘popopopppp’ (that last one was a test we did and not actually part of the document text). Later, as I thought about trusty spell check being on the fritz, I thought that would be a pretty mean trick if someone somehow hacked Microsoft Office and simply ‘turned off’ everyone’s spell check. Then that thought led me to think of a bunch of second-rate villains with half-assed evil intentions (like turning off spell-check) gathering together to share their ideas and encourage each other to spread their luke-warm  mayhem all over town. And they meet in the parking lot of a Denny’s.

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

One response »

  1. what is speall chick?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

