RSS Feed

Day #284: Accidental Napping (On Purpose)


The Story:

It was an accident… I was only going to rest my eyes.

It was the perfect time of day, perfect seat in the sun, perfect temperature… perfect nap.

The puppy curled up and fell asleep in my lap; what was I supposed to do?!?

I just needed to rest a spell… or several hours.

The pillow and quilt were giving me the eye…

Wasn’t today National Nap Day? No? Oh well… doesn’t hurt to get some practice in, I guess.

I thought I was coming down with something… best not to take any chances and get as much sleep as possible.

I was walking around in the sun for hours; whew, boy!… that sun really takes it out of you…

I read a study that taking a mid-afternoon nap was good for your health.

Did I mention it was an accident?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Ever take a nap on a beautiful day and wind up feeling a tad bit guilty? I do it all the time. It’s not that I’m overly tired (usually) or that I don’t want to be outdoors, it’s just that, well… I love to sleep. And, I must say, napping may be my favorite way to catch some zzz’s, especially on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon. Curled up on the couch, my great-grandma’s quilt over me, closing my eyes and feeling the sun envelope me in warmth, Joey (mini-wiener dog) jumping up and making a nest in my lap and snoring softly…ahhh… it’s one of the best things ever. Especially after spending hours walking around in the Florida heat, surrounded by hundreds of people all crowded around one small lake. I know I’ve written about napping before, but gosh dern it, I don’t care. So I make no more excuses, I took a nap today and it may have been one of the best experiences I’ve had in days.

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

One response »

  1. Oh I have napping down too! My hobby after a good book: NAP

    Reply

Leave a Reply

