RSS Feed

Day #271: Beastly Day


The Story:

“Holy crap! What is that?!?” Gerald screamed and almost crashed his Schwinn into Tabitha who had slowed in order to see what he was freaking out about. Screeching his tires to a halt, Gerald was so preoccupied he didn’t hear Tabitha lay into him for almost scuffing her brand new Huffy.

“It’s some kind of beast, or something…” he said mystified before being forced to look away lest he be run over by a pack of skateboarders coming towards him full-tilt down the park sidewalk.

“… you’re really lucky you didn’t scratch it, that’s all I can say. Now quit screwing around, we have to get home for Dougie’s birthday,” Tabitha was saying to no one, as Gerald was still completely unaware of her presence. Looking at the spot where Gerald had stared mystified only a second ago, she couldn’t help but burst into laughter as Gerald’s ‘beast’ appeared.

Sauntering by at a decent clip, were two police officers on horseback as they came through the park. Somehow, Gerald had mistaken one of the riders and her mount as a terrifying beast of unidentified origin.

“You see a police horse in the park and your immediate reaction is to scream in terror that there’s a beast?!? Man, either you need mom to take you to get some glasses or you’ve drinking too much Kool-Aid,” Tabitha laughed as she began to climb onto her Huffy.

“Well, they were on a hill and I only looked real quick, whatever… let’s just go before mom freaks out because we’re late for her silly dog’s birthday,” Gerald grumbled, feeling very silly for leaping to such a fantastic conclusion about the horse and mounted officer.

A minute later the siblings rode away, Gerald with his eyes forward and Tabitha still giggling at his expense.

Changing from his impromptu disguise back into his natural state, the beast silently chastised himself as the children disappeared around a corner, “That’s it, Chester- no more daytime walks in the park for you.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      As we rounded Lake Eola in search of a parking spot, Andy just about scared the sparkle out of me when he looked towards the park and yelled, “What is that?!?” As he was only able to give the ‘creature’ a passing glance since his attention was needed elsewhere (like on the road) somehow the horse carrying the police officer down a small hill had morphed into some mythological beast. Looking back a second time, he realized that it was in fact a mounted police officer as I assured him it was and shaking his head as if waking from a dream said, “I thought it was some kind of beast!” Never let that imagination die, babe… I need the laughs. 🙂

TWO:    Today is my little puppy dog’s 8th birthday! While I’m not into doggie birthday cakes or anything, I thought I’d mention his special day in my little story. Happy Birthday, Joey! Mama loves you!

Joey, the day I brought him home 8 years ago... ahhhh.....

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

2 responses »

  1. I’m not a fan of horses either, I saw one bite an apple in two and then another one tried to eat my hair, I suppose I was traumatized 🙂

    Reply
  2. sometimes they can be terrrible monsters. Happy Birthday Joey

    Reply

Leave a Reply

