RSS Feed

Day #265: Day One


The Story:

It’s really not a big to-do

I doubt anyone even noticed.

 *

It’s really no big deal

I was done lickity-split.

 *

It’s strange I hadn’t tried it before

I believe I would have been hooked.

 *

It’s cool in the winter, bearable in the fall

I wonder if I’ll manage in the summer…

 *

It’s really nothing too exciting

I feel a certain zest, that’s all.

 *

It’s nothing to write home about

I just hope I can keep it up.

 *

It’s day one, of the not-so-impressive goal

I’ll see you tomorrow, day two.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      So I know I’m a little late with the whole ‘resolutions’ thing, but I started something today that I would really like to stick with. For the past few years I’ve been fighting a losing battle with my ever-expanding waistline… oh, who am I kidding- it’s been more like laying down and putting a funnel in my mouth than fighting but let’s not split hairs. Well, I’m tired of it and while I will never be a petite little thing, and I very much doubt I will lose my love for all things sweet or fattening or sweet and fattening, there are a few little things I know I can do (and more importantly, will do). One of which happened today. I’m actually giddy about it, which is a scary indication of how much I needed it. I walked. I know, I know, keep your applause to a dull roar though, if you please. I decided yesterday that I have a whole hour, right in the middle of my day that is totally mine and I have been wasting it (although a much needed nappy-poo was necessary a few times). Instead of eating at my desk and flipping through Hulu for something to watch on my 17-inch computer screen for an hour, I decided to get off my butt. And walk. So, beginning today, I plan to eat for 30 minutes and walk for 30 minutes, hopefully everyday but a minimum of three times during the work week. Manageable, right? I think so, and I felt great afterwards. I felt like I needed to run out and tell someone, like it was a miracle or something. Then reality hit… I’m no runner.

Wait... did someone say Funnel Cake?!?

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

One response »

  1. excercise is a habit just start doing it and whamo your in the habit if you stop you will miss it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

