RSS Feed

Day #258: Wear Without A Care


The Story:

“Oooo! Pretty dress!”

Dahlia flipped her bangs out of her eyes and turned to see a little boy and his mama staring at her as she made her way past them. The little boy looked as if he had seen a princess, which amused Dahlia enough she thought she might as well give him a little show. Turning to face them both, she fell into a formal curtsey and as she stood she said in a regal tone, “Why thank you, young man. As princess of the parking lot I feel it my upmost duty to always look my best. Good day!” And with that she gave a little wave that would have done Diana proud before turning on her heel to continue on her way to the rest-stop bathroom.

“Bizarre…”

She heard someone utter the word meant as an insult from behind her in the fast food line and couldn’t help but smile. Dahlia adjusted her red flannel collar and brushing the front of the glitter-adorned dress turned slowly. Seeing the mortified look on the teenaged girl’s face, she knew the comment wasn’t meant to reach Dahlia’s ears. Locking eyes with the girl, Dahlia smiled sweetly and batted her long eyelashes. “Laundry day,” she said prettily before turning back to the counter and placing her order.

laundry day... when all you got left are the skanky ones (underwear that is)

Must be a new fashion trend…”

The snickering came from behind her, as seemed to be the trend, and Dahlia could barely contain the anticipation of making her reply. “This was getting quite fun,” she thought to herself, “maybe I’ll start going out in this more often”. Paying the cashier for her ten gallons of gas on pump 8, Dahlia began to walk away from the counter and as she passed the group of girls in their 20s said in her haughtiest tone, “Actually, it’s not new at all, dears. It’s been on the runway for ages now; I’m surprised you didn’t know. Then again…” Dahila peered over her nose at the girls’ ripped jean shorts, camisoles and flip flops before continuing, “…how could you. If you’d like to educate yourselves, which I might recommend, I would look up the House of Rilo Spring 2012 line out of Milan. I believe the younger crowd refers to ‘the look’ as “Cowgirl Couture” or something of the like. Ta ta!” Pointing her nose at a 45 degree angle to the sky, Dahlia sashayed out of the Kwik Stop and towards her car, leaving the group of girls staring after her with their mouths agog. She almost made it to her car without laughing… almost.

And yes, Cowgirl Couture IS a thing...

“That settles it,” Dahlia said laughing to herself. “From now on I will always wear flannel with my cocktail dress, it’s simply too fun”.

THE outfit... purty, aint it?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Ever heard the saying, “It’s better to be overdressed than underdressed?” Well, I let’s just say I didn’t have to worry about that today. Dressed to the nines, I’m talking gold glitter accented cocktail dress, full makeup and hair, even my nicer jewelry, I accompanied my Andy and both dogs to the beach. The plan was to take some pretty ridiculous pictures, Andy was in a suit (and cowboy hat) I in my dress and both dogs even had their ties on (clip on). On the way, I got a little chilled, so I threw on my flannel over the dress. About a half-hour out, nature called and we stopped at a rest area off of I-95. Realizing I looked a little strange, I hopped out of the car and walked towards the bathroom with my head high, kind of relishing all the stares I was getting. No one actually said anything to me, but if they had, I started thinking up some fun replies. Here are my top three, 1. “It’s laundry day”, 2. “My luggage was stolen and this is all I had left to wear”, 3. “It’s a new style, I call it Cowgirl Couture”. I’m seriously thinking about combining these two looks again, and maybe trying out a few more while I’m at it…

One of the decent pics we got today... maybe the only one. 🙂

Love & Squirrels.

 

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

3 responses »

  1. Quit the the trend setter you are

    Reply
  2. great photo of you three (where’s Joey?) all that’s missing is the cowboy boots. Hey, I know where you can get lots…..and Frontier has a fare sale going on!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

