RSS Feed

Day #244: 10 Types of Procrastinators


The Story:

The Ten Types of Procrastinators

  1. The Clueless– What? You mean the deadline is today? Ahh… man, I like had no idea. That’s heavy…
  2. The Perfectionist– I just need to proof this one more time…
  3. The Momma’s Boy– I thought my mom sent it in for me. Oh, you mean I have to sign it myself?
  4. The “Rules Don’t Apply to Me” Guy/Gal– Whatever, it’s not a big deal if I turn it in a few days late, right? I’ve been really busy.
  5. The Disillusioned– I just, I mean… I thought I had more time!?!
     
  6. The Slacker– I just threw everything into an envelope and mailed it in, that’s cool, right?
  7. The Million-and-One Excuse Maker– It’s just that my mom was sick and then my car broke down and then my printer broke and someone stole my laptop and then I had to go to work and my boss wouldn’t let me leave early and my dog needed his acupuncture….
  8. The Let’s Make  Deal Dude– What if I sent you most of the requirements and then I send you an email letting you know when the rest was coming? I could bring them in personally if that would be better…
  9. The Frazzled– Oh. My. God. My life is over. If this isn’t in on time then my whole future is down the tubes. I can’t believe this is happening, what am I going to do?!?
     
  10. The Thrill-Seeker– I’ll get it in on time, I always figure out a way to get it in just under the wire. Hey, I work best under stress, what can I say? It’s kind of a rush, ya know?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      As a life-long procrastinator and generally lazy person, I can usually sympathize with fellow last-minuters. My sympathy apparently has limits, as I discovered today, as I began the arduous task of processing almost 100 admissions applications, all of which decided to apply ON THE DEADLINE. While this is pretty much par for the course, it still annoys me. I understand wanting to make sure your application in perfect, I even understand having a bunch of things going on and putting your application off awhile, but come one people, help me out! And it would be one thing if it were just applications I have to maneuver through, but I also have to entertain the gazillion excuses I hear from applicants on why their sh-, ahem, why their ‘stuff’ isn’t together and they may or may not meet the deadline. I’ve heard just about every excuse you could think of and every time you know what I think?

I imagine that's what my face looks like when thinking this... so calming.

Ahhh… makes me feel better every time.

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

2 responses »

  1. Eek, sounds like it’s going to be a busy time! Good luck, I’m sure you’ll get it all done! And you’ll have it done before the deadline 😉

    Reply
  2. chill time is almost here

    Reply

Leave a Reply

