RSS Feed

Day #233: Trimmin Da Tree


The Story:

Ugly ones go in the back…

Work your way up, weave in and out…

Stagger, and for God’s sake, don’t clump…

Hide the cord…

Nothing on the bottom, think of the dogs…

Save the topper for last…

Big ones on the bottom, little ones on top…

Where’d all my purple ones go?

Hide the pickle…

We need a skirt…

Fill in the holes…

How did I get so many angels, apples and Santas?

The wing broke off…

The antler’s fell off, up… and there goes the soccer ball…

You think a mouse ate this?

Perfect…

THINGS YOU MIGHT SAY AS YOU TRIM THE TREE

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Yay!!! I finally got my tree! So confession time, I’m not a huge fan of Christmas. What I am a fan of is the Christmas season. Basically, the entire span between Thanksgiving and Christmas I am simply giddy (which inevitably comes to a close on Christmas day, leading to a huge let down… that the season has come to a close). Today was the perfect day for bringing home our tree as the temperature actually dipped into the 40s this morning and was a lovely 55 this evening. After an awesome dinner by the fireside at our favorite Irish pub (if you live in the Central Florida area, or if you ever visit Orlando, make sure to stop in to Fiddler’s Green in Winter Park for a pint and some fish & chips… you won’t be sorry) we made a stop at the church across the street to pick out the perfect tree. As Andy and I wandered the rows of fragrant firs, we settled on a beaut (the key is to find one with a straight top… at least for me it is). Knowing how much I love the whole ‘Christmas tree’ thing, Andy treated me to the tree and made sure I had enough loose trimmings to fashion into a wreath as well. In almost no time, the tree was up and Andy was throwing lights at it. Now- the ornaments. This is my FAVORITE PART. Each ornament has a special meaning, a gift from a teacher (all apples w/SAMANTHA in puffy pen), an angel from my mom, the wooden thistle I picked up in Scotland, the miniature clogs from Amsterdam, the salt dough ornaments I made when I was 11. I love to take my time finding the perfect spot for each one so this process usually takes me a good hour, hour and a half. And now, as I type I can’t help but gaze at the warm glow of the tree- wish we could leave it up all year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

One response »

  1. looks perfect if you could only bring up. can’t wait

    Reply

Leave a Reply

