RSS Feed

Day #231: Topsey Turvey


The Story:

“Hey Nick, you awake?” Timmy peered over at his longtime friend.

“Course I’m awake, you think I can sleep under these conditions?” Nick tried to shift the load slung over his right shoulder with little effect.

“No need to get grouchy with me, just looking for a little conversation, that’s all,” Timmy huffed a little hurt by Nick’s curt reply.  The two of them had been friends for years, through thick and thin they always ended up back together.

“Sorry Timmy, you know I don’t mean anything by it. I’m just so dern uncomfortable… feels like I’ve been standing for eons, my boots are practically welded onto my feet,” Nick said with a softened tone. He hadn’t intended to snap at Timmy, he was just so tired. It had been the same thing, day in and day out, for as long as he could remember. He felt trapped, stuck in time with no way out. It was a miserable existence, yet he forced a cheery smile every day, mostly for Timmy’s benefit. Timmy had it no better, forced to live in that seat, never able to get up, move around or stretch his little legs. The thought began to choke Nick up so he quickly changed the subject, “Hey Timmy, wanna play topsey turvey? I bet I can beat ya today”.

It appeared that Timmy’s smile grew the slightest bit brighter before he replied, “You’re on old man. I’m feeling lucky today”.

“Oh! Well then, we’ll just have to see about that!” Nick replied good-naturedly, “What’s your guess for today, then?”.

“I’m gonna say less than two hours, so let’s go with one hour, 37 minutes from now,” Timmy replied with zeal.

“That’s a pretty specific time, my boy, but alright have it your way. As for me, I think it’ll be a little longer than that, so I’m going to go over,” Nick said matter-of-factly.

And then they waited- as their game of ‘topsey turvey’ prescribed. Finally, around an hour and a half later they had a live one. “What did I tell you! It’s the little one, he always comes through. You’re his favorite, Nick so you better get ready!” Timmy almost squealed in excitement, there was little Timmy loved more than winning a game of topsey turvey.

“Well, you won this round Timmy but don’t let it go to your—“ just as Nick was finishing his sentence, he felt the odd yet familiar sense of weightlessness just before he was pitched upside down and engulfed in deluge of- glitter.

Nick before, during and after a round of Topsey Turvey

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Another Christmas crafting day, HOORAY! So I’ve been seeing all these DIY snow globe tutorials online (ok, on Pinterest) and I decided I simply must try to make a few of my own. Having already gathered the supplies, some glass jars (I just used an old spaghetti sauce jar and mason jar I had laying around), hot glue gun, figurines (best not to use metal as they will rust), glitter, distilled water and glycerin (this allows the glitter to float a little longer). After a few trial runs, I hot glued my figurines to the underside of the jar lids, poured water into the jars, added the glitter and glycerin and secured the lids. Finished them off with some festive ribbon and badda bing, badda boom, homemade snow globes! They are super charming, if I say so myself and really easy to make… might just have to make a few more of these lovelies before the end of the holidays.

Timmy & Nick. (aka residents of my new snow globes)

Love & Squirrels.

 

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

3 responses »

  1. Aw, this is adorable. And silly. Your snowglobes are super cute! I’m always afraid they’ll leak so I’ve never made them 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Kaitlin. So far they are holding tight… crossing my fingers there won’t be a puddle on my dining room table when I get home today! I highly suggest giving it a try, lots of fun and a really cheap way to bring some holiday spirit to the room. 🙂

      Reply
  2. very artsy craftsy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

