RSS Feed

Day #230: The 10 Commandments of Crafting


The Story:

The 10 Commandments of Crafting

  1. It will take approximately 2 hours longer than the tutorial says it will.
  2. You WILL burn something with the hot glue gun… have ice handy.
  3. You’ve heard it before, but I’ll say it again, GLITTER IS THE HERPES OF CRAFTING SUPPLIES.
  4. There will always be someone in the room who thinks they can do it better.
  5. It will rarely come out looking like the picture.
  6. If something turns out wrong; don’t worry, instead confidently say, “It’s supposed to look that way”.
  7. Finding paint on elbows or under nails days later is a sign you’re doing it right.
  8. Having a glass of wine handy is certain to improve your efforts.
  9. You will run out, or discover you are missing, one key supply seconds after you need it.
  10. Clean-up is always better left for another day (or person).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Well, I tried my hand at a Christmas craft today with mixed results. The idea was to take these cute little star fish acquired from my local Hobby Lobby and make them into a festive garland to hang above my kitchen sink.

What probably should have taken two hours tops, probably ended up taking me almost four (I’m a perfectionist and a procrastinator which makes for a very interesting combination). After spray painting my stars metallic silver, I then painted the backs white thinking I might alternate the colors. I didn’t like the white. So then, I decided to paint some of them with glow in the dark paint and sprinkle a bit ‘o glitter all over them.

Silver & sparkley

Liking the results, I then scoured my craft room for some twine or ribbon I could use to hang them. Then came the tricky part- securing the suckers to the twine. I eventually decided to hot glue them on, and after three burnt fingers, arms and torso wrapped in hot glue wispies aka the spider webs of craftiness, I had them all just as I wanted on the twine. Now to hang my beautiful garland… crap, I forgot about gravity. Seems that Newton’s homeboy didn’t figure into my plans and some of my starfish were glued too low so they are top-heavy and flip upside-down to show their unflattering behinds… how embarrassing. Oh well, I am too pooped to figure out how to solve that problem tonight, I’m sure I’ll come up with something by tomorrow, but the experience definitely taught me a few things about being all crafty and stuff. Like don’t touch the hot glue with your bare fingers and if you don’t have a plan before you start, don’t expect the results to be perfect.

Promise when I figure out how to hang them so they all are straight I'll post a decent picture, deal?

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

3 responses »

  1. I love it. It looks intentional to me!

    Reply
  2. looks good to me but as you know I’m a little askewed

    Reply

Leave a Reply

