RSS Feed

Day #225: Scarf It Up


The Story:

Swathed in comfort

I feel confident to face the day.

Nestled in the nook of my neck

I bury my face into your soft recesses.

Like a secret security blanket,

I never want to take you off.

If only I lived in a wintery wonderland

Where you could be a constant companion.

Instead of the humid and sticky tropics

Where you double as a mosquito net most days.

But today we were brought together

By the plunging thermostat and brisk wind.

And I must say- You go great with this grey sweater.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      As a native Floridian, I gleefully admit that I get super excited any time the temperature drops below 60 degrees. Today, with a high of 66, I was almost giddy as I thought of all the wonderful wintery wardrobe options I could bring together in homage to this last brisk day of November. And what wintery outfit would be complete without a super cuddly scarf? I don’t know what it is about them, but in the last several years I have experienced a severe gravitation towards this particular accessory, and now I look for any opportunity to wrap my neck up in one. So, all day I practically pranced around in my monochromatic outfit with a bright pop of color from my pink scarf. So dainty, so girly, so warm and lovely. It was like snuggling in my own little blankey all day, and now dressed for bed, I feel strangely naked without it. Think it’s a bad idea to sleep in a scarf? Yeah… probably.

You said it, hipster kitty, you said it...

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

2 responses »

  1. it was 24 degrees this am need more than a scarf, its a nice change we love the fireplace in the evening. Come on up

    Reply
  2. You could definitely wear a scarf in Colorado today. The snow started around 9pm last night and was still coming down until I finished shoveling…..took me 2 1/2 hrs just to clear the driveway (and a small patch of grass for Dorothy!!). Supposed to get really cold tonight and more snow on the way on Sat! It is Decembrrrr 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

