RSS Feed

Day #220: It Starts in the Throat


The Story:

 

Shards of broken glass

Swallowed quickly and digested slowly

 

A constant flood flowing in the recesses

Choking, its thick malignancy a telling symptom of what’s to come

 

A refusal to acquiesce, to let it win

You charge ahead with your plans and ignore the unrelenting signs

 

Frolicking in the waves and basking in the sun

It’s easy for the mind to forget, but your body presses on

 

And now that the day has expired and night ascends

What you tried to put off has returned- as it tends to do

 

Acknowledgement is not enough, it’s hungry for more

So you try to feed it- tea and honey, ginger ale, buttered noodles, elderberry lozenges

 

Weak from your attempts, you know what you must do now

So you pull up the blanket and close your eyes

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      How can I feel positively on top of the world one day, and the next- BAM! I’m slammed down to earth with a cold, or at least the beginning of one. It didn’t even wait until I had my full night of sleep, but chose instead to rip me from my dreams with a devil of a sore throat. It’s only gotten worse as the day progressed, despite my best efforts to rid myself of it. Drinking a glass of Emergen-C, popping a Zicam, drinking tons of tea, water, Sprite, Ginger Ale, spending the day in the sun and the surf at our favorite dog beach, two hours of peaceful napping on the couch, nothing is really working. And now, I have a stuffy nose and headache, oh joy. So, this lil gal is calling it a night, after a quick meal of buttered noodles I’m off to bed. I hate being sick.

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

One response »

  1. sorry yu aren’t feeling well sweetie, hope it goes away quickly!! Wish I could be there to help, love you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

