RSS Feed

Day #211: Today is Wednesday


The Story:

 

There is nothing to say

And that isn’t bad.

There was nothing that happened,

But I’m not sad.

 *

Some days just drift by

Without great fuss or incident.

They simply begin in the morning

And end quietly when they are spent.

 *

At times it is better to relish the plainness

To soak in the normalcy.

So I choose to bask in the everydayness

It seems a special gift to me.

 

Great... it's probably stale.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      A very uneventful Wednesday for yours truly. Usually this would send me into panic mode, “What am I gonna write about? I have to think of something that happened to me today!”. For whatever reason though, I don’t feel that urgency tonight. I’d rather just relish the fact that I made it through another day, and it wasn’t good, it wasn’t bad, it just…was. I’m sure there is something I could spin into a half-hearted story, like being asked to throw together a last minute celebration with a cookie cake, or that awkward moment when I realized my boss had a huge bit of blue icing on his lower lip and no one would tell him (I know they all saw it!), or the moment I thought there was a fire in my office (turns out someone just burnt their lunch) or about the two students from legal studies running their lines in the hallway from an upcoming mock trial. Meh, just another Wednesday.

My favorite Wednesday

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

9 responses »

  1. Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    – Writers Wanted –

    Reply
  2. normalcy is underrated 😉 so worth basking in.
    Shes my fave wednesday too!
    Haha great blog
    Alice x

    Reply
  3. good to have days like that

    Reply
  4. wordsfallfrommyeyes

    That picture! It’s just seems to speak so much, in the girl’s eyes and posture. I love old time pictures. My gosh we’ve changed even in just a century.

    Re your boss & the icing, I was in Subway for my lunch time the other day, and you know how you move along, move along, when I got to the cashier, she had a grating of carrot on her chin. Of all the people ahead of me, no one had said anything! I said “I think you might have some carrot on your chin” and she wiped it off – it fell in the till! – and she said “Oh, I THOUGHT there was something there but I wasn’t sure”. Whyever don’t people tell?!! It’s not an insult or anything, it’s just a tell!

    Reply
    • Haha, too funny… usually I am all about letting people know there’s a bit of smutz on their face or in their teeth but in this instance I weighed calling attention to it in front of the entire faculty or just hoping that someone sitting near him would clue him in. I’m super paranoid about things being out of sorts on my person, so I meticulously check my teeth, face and emm… rear end (you never know when you might sit in something!). Thanks for reading, and as always love your comments. 🙂

      Reply
  5. wordsfallfrommyeyes

    Also – can’t believe the fortune cookie : was that for real?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

