RSS Feed

Day #187: Domestic Goddess


The Story:

This is what I look like on the weekend...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      So I was in complete domestic mode this weekend. I think it’s mostly because the house had gotten to such a state that I couldn’t take the mess or clutter one more second. I’m not usually a huge fan of cleaning, I’m more of a ‘brush it under the rug’ sorta gal, but not this weekend. Every corner I could get to got a thorough scrubbing. In addition to the cleaning, I also put a few of my other rusty domestic skills to work, including baking, flower arranging and going to the market. Aren’t I just something? Ha! Anywho, the image is what my idea of a domestic goddess would look like (any goddess worth her salt needs at least half a dozen arms and several heads in my opinion). The items she is skillfully balancing represent all that I did this weekend. Let’s take it counter-clockwise shall we? The blueberry muffins I baked up for breakfast (and lets face it, snacks), the lovely sunflowers I purchased and then arranged for a beautious fall bouquet. Next is a bag of groceries, made my weekly trip today despite my better judgement to avoid the store on a Sunday. Rounding out the goddess’ right side is the vacuum cleaner, which I pushed around for a good hour and a half today (wolf dogs shed A LOT). Next we see a lil puppy being enticed with a Kong toy, that would be my mini doxie joey who ‘helped’ me clean up his toys. Then we have a TJ Maxx card, yes the weekend did entail a tinsey bit o’ shopping (what? a goddess gots to look good). Next is the broom that served two purposes today, sweeping up the dog hair before setting to work with the vacuum and then beating the heck out of my rugs. Finally, the laundry. I think I washed every scrap of fabric in this joint. I’m honestly surprised the dogs managed to escape getting tossed in the mix I was on such a tear! I’m definitely exhausted but dang, it feels good to be in a clean(ish) house again. Oh, and bonus, I think I found my Halloween costume thanks to my domestic goddess inspiration. Sweet.

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

2 responses »

  1. clean daily!! just what want to hear huh.

    Reply
  2. Love the photo. So true weekends!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

