RSS Feed

Day #180: Took My Ladies for a Walk


The Story:

“I’ve got one, how about something simple like, Feel your boobies? Emily asked before popping a handful of M&Ms in her mouth.

“Cool, I’ll write that one down. OK, so I like- Let’s do it for the ta-tas. What do you think?” Diane asked as she wrote down both phrases in her notebook.

“That one’s good too. OK, how bout this- Check your boo bees and we can have some bees flying around saying ‘boo’. Cute right?” Emily replied excitedly.

“Love it, super cute!” Diane agreed. “Ok, I have a few more, what do you think of these: The breast is yet to come. Boobs, they could use your support and Big or small, save them all?”

“Those are all awesome. I like the boobs they could use your support one the best I think. That and the bees one,” Emily said before looking at her watch. “Crap, it’s almost nine o’clock. We better get crackin on these t-shirts for the team before the race tomorrow or we’re going to have some naked boobies to worry about!”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Today I raced for the cure… kinda. I actually just walked (briskly!) for the 15th annual Susan G Komen Breast Cancer 5k at UCF. This, being my first experience with the event, I was absolutely awestruck by how huge it is. Thousands of people, all donning pink, showed up in the wee hours of the morning to come together against this nasty disease. Men wearing pink tutus, women with pink wigs or headscarves, teenage boys in nothing but shorts and pink fairy wings, babies in pink polka dot onesies, even dogs in pink t-shirts- amazing. Not to mention all of the super creative homemade and professionally created t-shirts just about everyone else was wearing. Breast cancer has always been a disease that especially hits close to home for yours truly as my beautiful grandmother is a survivor. I walked for her today. So, Mamaw, I got a bunch of swag from the race for you- including like 40 strands of hot pink beads and a cool ‘Survivor’ tshirt. I love you!

My friend Joanna and I after the race.

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

13 responses »

  1. Kudos to you for doing that! Love the t-shirt!

    Reply
  2. I realize it was in the “Story” section, but that Boo-Bees shirt is really terrific.

    Reply
  3. Love it!!! Fun day, we definitely need to pick some other fun events! 🙂

    Reply
  4. great of you to support the good cause, your step mother aprreciates you also

    Reply
  5. HEY first off Kudos for doing the walk. I can’t make it that far. 2nd. I am pretty sure I know that Joanna from volunteering @ Diabetes camp with me. If so the que it’s a small world theme song. Way to go ladies.

    Reply
    • Thanks SO’B! That’s too crazy if it’s the same Joanna, although I wouldn’t doubt it.

      (Totally have Small world theme song on a loop in my head now… not gonna thank you for THATone)

      😉

      Reply
  6. Proud of you Sam, sounds like it was fun..sorry I’m so behind on reading. It’s been a busy week with our first houseguests!! Can’t wait til you come out, Love you Mom

    Reply
  7. Yay! Go Sammy (and the “girls”). Great cause and I myself will be “putting on my pink bra” next Saturday and taking my ladies for a stroll. XO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

