RSS Feed

Day #179: Whatcha Do Today?


The Story:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:     Whew! Talk about a whirlwind day! After getting about 3 hours of sleep last night (thanks to a nervous wolfdog) I was ill prepared for what turned out to be a jam-packed day. First thing in the a.m. Andy and I loaded up and headed down to the Orlando Chamber of Commerce for the October 15th Occupy Orlando Rally and March through downtown. It was awesome. I’m not sure of the exact numbers but there were probably over one thousand marchers. So many different walks of life, so many passionate people, so many totally hilarious protest signs. It was a great day, we were given the streets by the lovely men and women of the Orlando Police department and I feel so lucky I was able to be a part of something so exciting. After what turned out to be about a 4 hour march, Andy and I headed over to IHOP to refuel. Stuffing my face with crepes and hash browns, it took about 1 minute before I was in desperate need of some shuteye. Back to the ranch for a quick nap, and then we were off again to Andy’s movie set to help them clean up the hobo camp he spent the previous night designing. Grabbing some fun drinks from Chamberlain’s on the way, we ended up in Sanford, under a highway picking up strategically placed trash by the railroad tracks. After that it was off to the Seminole Town Center so Andy could sit and design some graphics for the next day. While he worked, I decided to explore the mall and ended up in Yankee Candle. $45 later and the house was stocked for a fragrant holiday season. Finishing the graphics, it was off on a wild goose chase to find a print shop that stayed open beyond 8pm on a Saturday. Finally, our last option, we ended up in a nearby FedEx/Kinko’s Print Shop. Is it me, or are the people employed at Fed Ex/Kinko’s always in a rotten mood? The dude behind the counter was less than enthused to see us sprint in the door at 12 minutes till closing and made snide remarks to us the entire time we were there. Annoying. Graphics printed, we were off to an adult toy shop (the set of tomorrow’s set for the movie, swear) so Andy could size up the place and make sure there wasn’t anything that needed to be covered (aka logos, brand names, etc.). Finishing up there, we had to track down his boss to pass off the recently created & printed graphics, and found him at the local German Restaurant, the infamous Willow Tree. So just a recap- protest rally, pancakes, nap, Chamberlain’s, hobo camp by the tracks, the mall, Yankee Candle, FedEx/Kinko’s, sex shop, German eatery. Kind of a bizarre day, no? I’ll say it again, whew!

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

3 responses »

  1. what were you protesting?

    Reply
  2. You are my hero.

    Reply
    • Thanks again SO’B, but I should warn you, I take being a citizen’s ‘hero’ very seriously. Come to think of it, I believe I made the same statement to you some years back regarding the best freaking Christmas decor I’ve ever seen.

      Virtual ‘high five’ for us both being awesome. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

