RSS Feed

Day #172: Nothing is So Exhausting… As Doing Nothing


The Story:

“Ugh, I’m soooo tired. I have had quite the day,” Scott drawled as he scanned through the Laughing Dog Chinese takeout menu. “I can’t even focus enough to figure out what I want, man I’m completely spent. What are you gonna get?” Scott looked up from his menu at his friend Chris.

Tossing a bored look at Scott, who was now slouched down in the one chair in the cramped takeout entryway, Chris looked at the menu one more time and replied, “Think I’m gonna go with the Cashew Chicken… maybe get some Krab Rangoon. I’m starving, I was out on the lake all day and been working out in the yard fixing a few sections of the fence where it was starting to rot. Didn’t realize how hungry I was until you called and mentioned grabbing some Chinese”.

“Yeah, I totally know what you mean. I’ve had a pretty killer day too,” Scott said before pulling himself out of the chair and up to the cashier’s counter to place his order. After Scott placed his order, and Chris ordered his Cashew Chicken they both sat down in a nearby booth to wait for their food.

“So, Scott, what all did you do today to be so exhausted?” Chris said as he absently watched a muted Chinese game show on the TV set across the empty dining room.

“Uh, you know… usual weekend stuff,” Scott said a little too casually.

Chris pulled his attention away from two Asian men in brightly colored futuristic suits who were bouncing around a studio set on giant balls, and looked at his friend. Something was off. Chris couldn’t remember a time Scott had passed up a chance to direct the conversation towards his favorite topic- himself. “No, I don’t know. What kind of weekend stuff? Must have been intense to wear you out,” Scott pushed.

Scott nervously folded and unfolded his receipt. Crap, why did I have to open my dang mouth, Scott thought to himself. While Scott had been truthful, he was exhausted, it wasn’t due to any exertion on his part, quite the opposite, in fact. Replaying his day, Scott was having a hard time remembering anything of consequence he had actually done since awaking at eleven o’clock that morning. Let’s see, he had made a pot of coffee, spent about three hours catching up on some of his shows from last week thanks to DVR, he had done a few sit ups and pushups before taking a quick shower. After making two cheese quesadillas Scott had settled in to watch one of his favorite movies- (a secret indulgence Chris would give him hell for should he find out) The Phantom of the Opera. After watching that musical treasure of cinematography, Scott browsed the web for a while before falling asleep on the couch for about 2 hours. Upon waking, Scott had rung up Chris to see about grabbing some grub.

“Well, uh to be honest, I didn’t really…” Scott began before one of the petite women from the restaurant came speedily shuffling out from the back with two takeout bags and screamed, “One order Cashew Chicken, one Order Krab Rangoon!” Looking at the stapled receipt of the other bag she screamed (unnecessarily as she was ten feet away now), “One order Hot Spicy soup, one order number 26, fried rice!”.

“Sweet! Let’s get outta here… we can go back to my place and watch the game while we eat,” Chris said as he grabbed the food-laden bags from the woman and headed towards the door.

Scott let out a sigh of relief and followed Chris out the door.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Rain, rain go away… cause I had big plans for today but you ruined them so I ended up sitting on my tuckus all day and did a whole lot of nothing. So instead of a day of tailgating and football, I spent the majority of the day glued to the couch (I did get up long enough to make some lunch, take a shower and do a 30 minute pilates video) and, strangely, this inactivity has really worn me out. Who knew doing nothing was so tiring?

TWO:    To reward my day of nothing-doing, Andy and I tried a new Chinese takeout place for dinner tonight. While waiting for my cashew chicken and his tofu General Tso, we were greatly entertained by a bizarre Japanese or Chinese game show. From what I could gather it was some sort of improv show, hosted by two brightly dressed Asian men who looked like they just walked off the movie set of some futuristic kid’s show.

Love & Squirrels.

 

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

2 responses »

  1. Somehow I don’t think this was what Bing Crosby, William Bendix, and Sir Cedric Hardwicke had in mind!

    M
    __________
    Marie Marshall
    writer/poet/editor/blogger
    Scotland
    http://mairibheag.com
    http://kvennarad.com

    Reply
    • Funny, Marie. I never heard that song until your reply… and no, I doubt very much this is what they had in mind when singing that cheerful (if nonsensical) tune. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

