RSS Feed

Day #158: Pin Up List


The Story:

A wash full of intimates

A pedicure long overdue

A cheesecake unbaked

And a much needed phone call or two

*

A pile of mending that must be sorted through

A bathroom in desperate need of scrubbing

A growing stack of “need-to-read”

And a desktop ready for reorganizing

*

A room full of half-finished projects

A guest room with nothing but bare walls

A fresh batch of brewed ice tea- not yet made

And a puppy who needs a good washing down to his paws

*

A day with no obligations- perfect for chores

A list of things I had every intention of doing

A surprise attack from a nap unexpected

And another day gone leaving my tasks still accruing.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      What is that phrase, The path to hell is paved with good intentions? Well, my path would also be strewn with half-painted canvases and bookshelves, secondhand furniture in need of refurbishing, blank walls, piles of laundry, never-opened books, stacks of never-tried recipes and lots and lots of housework. Every weekend I promise myself I will spend at least one day catching up on some of the things I’ve been meaning to do but am too exhausted to see to during the work week. I even have a chalkboard in my living room that I catalog some of the ‘bigger’ items in an effort to get my butt moving on them… it has had mixed results. So here it is, Saturday. A day with a million possibilities, a day that can be molded into anything I want it to be, a day that is open and ready to be put to work. So what do I do? Well, after a morning/afternoon of running around with Andy, I can home and almost immediately- fall asleep. Sigh… oh well. I’ll try not to be too tough on myself, after all I did accomplish a few things, I was introduced to a new favorite used bookstore (and they were introduced to my Visa card), I finished spray-painting a little stool for the kitchen, I did a load of laundry, played a few rounds of Dr. Mario (naturally), I cooked a scrumptious dinner… I, ah…hmm… what else did I do today? Well, as they say, tomorrow’s another day! See you then, Sunday!

THE To-Do List... that never gets done

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

One response »

  1. better get busy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

