RSS Feed

Day #119: Tonight’s Another Night


The Story:

“I just don’t know… last night when you kept leaving, it really messed me up,” Julie stared at her feet and bit her lip- desperately trying to keep the encroaching tears at bay. Wiping away the first assault of enemy tears with a violent swipe of her hand, Julie took a deep breath.

“And when you came back this afternoon, I’ll admit, it was nice… really nice, actually,” Julie smiled in remembrance before angrily creasing her brow- upset at her mouth’s disloyalty. “But we both knew that it wasn’t going to last, and it didn’t- you were gone again in a matter of hours,” Julie looked at her folded hands, feeling haggard and wrung out. She continued, “And I know it’s not all your fault, believe me I get it. I know that sometimes you have to leave and it’s not because you want to but because you are forced away, sometimes by outside events and sometimes even by me… I know that”. Julie was beginning to gain a little more composure, a little more courage.

“The thing is, I deserve better. I want better. And I’m not willing to settle any longer. No more late nights left wondering where you are. No more lying in bed alone without any sign that you are even going to show up. I need something stable, something I can count on, something consistent,” Julie said with her head held a little higher.

“So that’s it then. You know how I feel. If what I’ve said sounds like something you can get on board with, then I would really like to give it another go with you. If not, then I’m just going to have to figure something else out… without you,” Julie said the last two words a little softer than she would have liked but overall felt good about her ultimatum.

Climbing into bed, Julie turned off the bedside light and smiled as she felt her eyes growing heavy. “So glad you decided to join me. I’ve missed you,” she said into the dark as she allowed sleep to wrap her in its sweet embrace.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      I have a love/hate relationship with sleep. Always have. I love sleep (maybe a little too much) and hate how little of it I seem to be getting lately (weirdly my lack in sleep has coincided with picking up a particular writing project… hmmmm). Anyway, last night was a rough one for Sam. My dog, Joey (the mini dachshund) has been suffering from a stomach issue since coming home from his stay at the vet last week. And when I say ‘stomach issue’ I mean diarrhea… so much diarrhea. Without delving too far into the details, I was forced from my bed just about every hour last night to deal with the results of this ‘stomach issue’ leaving me with precious little shut eye time (rounds about 3 hours to be exactly inexact) and the need to burn every scented candle in my home. The story above is a conversation I can definitely see myself having with my finicky love- senor sleep. He really needs to stop messing around, I am getting tired of being told how tired I look (don’t you just love those kinds of comments?).

Some girls have all the luck (and I'm not referring to Prince Smarmy).

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

One response »

  1. Hey I call it like I see it, besides, our lack of sleep hasn’t hindered your productivity when it comes to this blog, what day is this? 119 and still going strong. See? There is something marvelous in every single day worth writing about, most people just never realize what you have, that many of those marvelous things happen within the realm of our home, to and from, and while at work.

    Keep up the good ones, and skim over the not so good ones. Everyone reading is living through you. If not starting to see the little things are just as important as the big ones themselves thanks to you and your “stories”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

