RSS Feed

Day #102: Hot Mess

Posted on

The Story:

She checked her reflection again for the tenth time. Seeing a hair out of place, she gently swept it off of her forehead and checked again. After spending more than two hours getting ready, Heather believed she was ready to finally head out the door.

An hour of that time had been spent changing her outfit about two dozen times. Each time she would model the change in wardrobe in the full-length mirror in the bedroom. Tucking, untucking, cinching with a belt or trying a different necklace, she just couldn’t find the right combination. And that didn’t even account for the time she took to pick out her shoes.

Another hour was spent applying her makeup and styling her auburn tresses. Every application of foundation, concealer, blush, eye shadow and mascara was with extreme care. Pressing some powder on her nose, Heather peered discriminately at her nose, and wiped the excess powder off. Now… the hair. Blow-drying, and styling for about half an hour, Heather smoothed each strand into place and covered her whole head with a douse of hairspray.

One last look, from head to toe, Heather nodded in approval. Time to get going or she’d be late.

She walked out the door and immediately her hair went limp and frizzed out in every direction, she began sweating through her silk blouse and linen trousers and her makeup literally began to melt off of her face.

Sighing, Heather shrugged her shoulders. “Gotta love Florida summers!” Heather mopped her brow and hopped in her car and was off.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Tonight I had the pleasure of joining some great friends for the celebration of their son’s birthday. Dinner was at 5pm at a Hibachi & Sushi restaurant to be followed by cake and gifts at their new home. Now, I don’t have many occasions to really get all dolled up, so I thought I might as well take advantage of tonight and spend some time primping and beautifying myself. I tried on a bunch of different outfits, spent time actually blow-drying my hair (if you know me, then you know that’s sayin something) and got my makeup just right. I was all ready to go and then… I walked outside. For those of you who don’t live in Florida or who have never spent any time in the Sunshine State during the summer months, this may not seem like a noteworthy event. For those of you who do live here, then you know…

I was a wreck in a matter of minutes. I looked as if I had just stepped out of a hot shower and then proceeded to apply my makeup while still dripping wet. My hair, which had looked pretty decent before crossing the threshold was now curling in strange directions, my bangs were stuck to my forehead and the frizz… dear God, the frizz. My clothes were already sticking to me, in a matter of minutes and I still had a 45 minute drive ahead of me. Joy. All that trouble to go to a restaurant where they cook inches from your face over an open flame. Double Joy. Oh well, I had a great time, despite looking like a melted Strawberry Shortcake doll and was super excited to reconnect with my friends.

Maybe that's why she always wore that hat... clever girl.

TWO:    Heather is the name of my very good friend who I got to see tonight. Hi Heather!!! :o)

Love & Squirrels.

 

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

Leave a Reply

