RSS Feed

Day #93: Convo-less

Posted on

The Story:

It’s not as easy as it sounds. Believe me, I know. The setting is always a determining factor, as is the number of people who will be in close proximity for the duration of time. If you are serious about this objective, there are plenty of strategies, some better than others that you can employ. If it’s me though, and this is just my humble opinion, I like to give it an ‘honest’ go and try for a perfect score without using any additional techniques.

Some call me a natural. I suppose that may be true. It takes work though, I won’t pretend that it doesn’t. Many times I’ll not even realize that I’m doing it until a few hours or even days pass by. I have, what you may call, an easily forgotten face. I don’t wear flashy clothes; I don’t weigh too much or too little. I have no distinguishing marks on my person. Just your average Joe. Never one to draw attention to myself, this pastime, or ‘hobby’ as some would call it has always just been a part of my disposition, I suppose.

My record and I believe it is still a world record, although you would need to check with the good folks at the Guinness World Records for that is 271 days. Quite a feat, believe you me.  That stretch of time didn’t start out with the intention of going for any record. It started out just like any other day. After almost seven months the streak was finally broken when I needed to take my car in for an oil change.

Initially, it really got me down… that I could go for so long. Now, I take a kind of pride in it, as I imagine anyone with even the smallest of egos would. It’s something that sets me apart, I’ve left my mark on this world, and isn’t that really what we all are desperately seeking, anyway? So, I don’t let it get me down anymore. I’ve made it kind of a game. And, if the chance arises, I’ll try and beat out my record again.

271 days. That is the record. If you think you have what it takes, I encourage you to give it a try. See how long you last. It’s amazing how much we crave each other’s’ attention… I’m willing to bet you can’t go more than a few days.

My name is Sherman Longfellow and I hold the world record for longest period of time endured without any outside human contact initiated (that means no one talked to me for almost 300 days).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Today was the final day of my two day conference, and I’m pretty sure I went the entire two days without one person initiating an actual conversation with me (telling me the toilet won’t flush in the ladies’ room does not count). I’m not complaining, there were very few individuals I was interested in speaking to… can’t think of one, actually. I believe the longest conversation I held during this time period was with the cashier at Nature’s Table when I was ordering my lunch. And that was maybe a total of four complete sentences. I began to feel strangely unnoticed by the rest of the people attending the seminar, but chalked that up to the significant age gap between myself and the majority of the others in attendance. Not that I initiated conversation either… I tried once or twice but the words fell flat and seemed foreign even to my ears. Strange how going for a day or two without conversing with another individual suddenly turns your words into mush and cripples your attempts at humor so they seem forced and ridiculous. Sigh… oh well. Guess that’s why I’ve always had a fondness for the written word.

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

Leave a Reply

