RSS Feed

Day #89: IN SEE I ES

Posted on

The Story:

It’s all consuming. All other tasks seem trivial in comparison. Once you start, all other things seem to fall away and remain only in the peripheral of awareness. How can I be expected to concentrate? How can I possibly create anything when my mind is focused elsewhere?

A slave to my master of expectations, I drag on. Even on this, the day of rest, I must labor towards what seems today to be nothing but a trifling goal. There is no rest for the weary… truer words have not been spoken. And so I begin, several false starts and blank pages later, and still… inspiration is a no- show. All I can think about is it.

The familiar characters, like family or close friends. The subtle humor and inside jokes… oh, how they make me feel like part of the team. The intensity of the newest problem, the leadership that kicks in, the teamwork and intelligence, all of it working together like the well-oiled cogs of a precise timepiece. The twists and turns, the professionalism and impressive overall production still hold me in awe.

I refuse to deny myself any longer. I need this.

It’s time for another NCIS marathon.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Ok, don’t judge me but I need a break. After another day in the Florida sun, my energy (read: creativity juice) is about on ‘E’. I’m sure there were quite a few things that happened in the course of today that deserve to be chronicled but to be honest… I can’t really think of anything but turning on the ‘boob tube’ and zoning out to an episode or two of NCIS. Man, I love that show. It’s really the only thing I watch with any frequency anymore. Plus, my dear friend Joanna loaned me Season 1-3 and I’d like to finish up season 3 in time to return them to her on Thursday. So, shame on me I’m calling it quits a little early tonight and treating myself. Sometimes, you just got to do that. I feel no guilt (ok maybe a little but I’ll get over it).See you tomorrow!

I can already hear the rave party music that doubles as the NCIS opening theme…

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

One response »

  1. sometimes its healthy to veg-out

    Reply

Leave a Reply

