RSS Feed

Day #88: Five + Seven + Five = Two Firsts

Posted on

The Story:

 

ONE-

Girl meets lawn mower

At least there is no small talk

Greetings, new friend

 

TWO-

The grass grows too tall

Happy, it bends to the sun

Until it is cut

 

THREE-

Flies, how I loathe you

But not above mosquito

For him I hate most

 

FOUR-

Flash of white in dirt

What are you, strange insect

Albino cockroach

Howdy! (click for source)

FIVE-

Your fun has been had

Time to scatter bugs, run now

I know, yard work bites

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Lots of firsts today (ok, only two but whatevs) including my chosen writing style. In all my 30 years and 88 days, I have never (to my recollection) written a haiku. So, I thought I’d write a few to see how I would fare, and honestly after the first one or two, I started to really get in to it. The first haiku is in reference to my other ‘first’ today… I mowed the lawn. Yes, that’s right, in all my years on this planet I have managed to avoid this chore, detested by many and enjoyed by a small few. But today, as I watched Andy push the noisy machine down the year a sudden desire to give it ‘a go’ came over me and I asked to ‘cut in’ (get it???). After a brief tutorial, I started the thing up and got moving. You know what? I kinda loved it. I may take over the mowing full time (I’m sure Andy will be pleased). The second haiku describes how ridiculous our lawn (aka random weeds with a few sprinklings of grass) had gotten due to… rain, yeah, we’ll go with rain as the excuse. The third, fourth and fifth haiku is an ode to those lovely pests that live in my yard and annoy to no end. The mosquitos were especially bad and so were the flies. Then as Andy cleared a section of the yard that had been covered with old branches and piles of trimmings for God knows how long he unearthed a veritable bug world. The ground seemed to move with activity. Wolf spiders, rolly pollies, inch worms, beetles and yes, cockroaches were all in panic mode as their cover was suddenly ripped away. There was even an albino cockroach, which was pretty cool looking, actually. Ahhh, gotta love yard work in the Florida summer.

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

Leave a Reply

