RSS Feed

Day #77: Hiding In My Hair

Posted on

The Story:

I for one am convinced that 'bangs' were the brainchild of an introvert... but I'm a little biased, I guess

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

I strayed again tonight… felt the urge to pick up a pencil and scribble a little, thanks for indulging me!

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

not...quite...long...enough...

ONE:      Today I was feeling very “I” (that’s for you Kristi M.!) or introverted for all of you non Myers-Briggs people (if you ever want to discover what your personality preferences are, I highly recommend taking a quick online MBTI test, it’s super interesting… at least I think so). As an INFP (see what that means here) sometimes I just want to tuck away from the world and be left alone with my thoughts for a day. Thankfully, my position is one that allows me that indulgence, for the most part, and besides a few inquiring students I had the day to myself. But as I was leaving for the day, I heard (and felt) someone close their office door and begin their trek down the hallway just a few steps behind me. Perhaps this is just a Samism (something that bugs me), but this is one of the most unsettling sensations for yours truly. I feel completely awkward… do I turn around? Do I sneak a glance to see if I know the person? If I do know them, will I have to wait and try to come up with small talk as we walk the same path to our car? Do I hold the door open for them or if they get to it first does that mean they are holding it open for me to go first or are they going through first? Whew… and yes, that is but a small glimpse into the brain of a true introvert (or maybe, just my brain). So… to answer your question, I decided to NOT turn around. In fact, I actually let my hair fall around my face so it blocked my peripheral view, allowing me a plausible excuse for not looking if the person in question was actually an acquaintance wondering why I hadn’t stopped. Hair in my face… hmmm… I wonder if there are other benefits to walking around sheltered by a mane of hair, peeking out only when it suits me…

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

4 responses »

  1. OMG. That is me. I hated leaving work at the U, because it’s such a long walk to the car and I would always have this issue and have to talk to people.

    Reply
  2. I’m an ISFJ…that waaaaas interesting, thanks 🙂 I don’t think it COMPLETELY fits me but a lot does. What’s the link to were you took the quiz?

    Reply
    • I just read another description on my personality type and it was very different from the first and totally DISAGREED with it…hmmm. It was entertaining none the less.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

