RSS Feed

Day #57: Call for Art

Posted on

The Story:

Upon revealing his third installment in what has popularly become known as “The Cubicle Blues”, R.C. Habreck is once again raking in the praises of critics from around the country. When asked to comment on his work, Habreck, known for his hermit-like behavior and hipster style, refused to comment, and instead, handed this reporter the now renowned blank business card with his trademark “?”.

See what critics are saying:

“A moving display that speaks to the everyman…” – Chester Gould, New York Times

“…never have I been so affected by such brave simplicity. His work boldly details (the) struggle found in the particle board and plastic prisons that begin as our work setting and inevitably become our tombs…” -Sally Worth, The Austin Chronicle

“Move over Warhol!” -John Sinclair, Boston Globe

A provocative commentary on the demoralization of the American worker and…just how far we’ve fallen…”  –Dominique Rodriguez, Los Angeles Times

“Disturbing and beautiful.” –Tony Caruso, USA Today

“Relevant, unpretentious… stirring to the very core. Bravo.” –Claudette Yi, TIME Magazine

“It calls to me…” –Douglas Farsse, St. Petersburg Times

Seriously guys... it's just my phone cord.

*Just a reminder, that while the publication names may be real, the critics and their statements are complete works of fiction taken from the jumbled mess that is my silly lil brain.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      Ever try to untangle the cord of your office phone? I have a nervous habit of messing with the cord of my phone every time I receive a phone call that lasts more than a few minutes (I am NOT fond of phone conversations, as anyone who knows me can attest) and as a result the darned thing is a hopelessly tangled mess. Giving up on ever getting the thing to cooperate, I decided to have a little fun with it by yanking and pulling at it to make different shapes. I made a dog, a flower, a blob… ok the shapes were not my best work, I’ll admit. After a few hours of doing some actual work, I glanced back over at my phone cord and it was lying in a very provocative shape. It looked kind of like a dead man or a chalk outline from a murder scene (guess I was feeling a bit morbid today). So, I took a picture of it. Having some fun in Microsoft Office (yes, I’m a nerd) I decided to make it into art, and wallah! the newest artistic genius of our time is launched. I just think it’s funny what some people consider art so this is me poking fun…

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

One response »

  1. you know you are very left brained, thats a good thing and makes me proud

    Reply

Leave a Reply

