RSS Feed

Day #23: You have NO new messages

Posted on

The Story:

Welcome to the Phone Mail System. Please enter your PIN followed by the 
# sign. You have ONE new message. Message ONE:

“Um, yeah… hi. This is Marcy Dunst calling for Ernest Jones. Could you please call me back at Four oh seven, five five five, twenty-one twenty-two when you get this message? Thank you.”

<<CLICK>>

Message received Monday, May 12, 2009. Press ONE to save, THREE to delete 
or NINE for more options.

Welcome to Voicemail, you have one new message. First message received on 
May 12, 2009 at 11:37 p.m.

“Yeah, Hi. Ms. Dunst? This is Ernest Jones calling you back. Sorry I missed your call earlier today, my hours can be kind of sporadic. Give me a call back when you get the chance. In case you need the number again, it’s four oh seven, five five five, eight seven nine seven. Ok then, bye bye.”

<<CLICK>>

End of new messages.

Welcome to the Phone Mail System. Please enter your PIN followed by the 
# sign. You have ONE new message. Message ONE:

“Hi Ernest, this is Marcy, Marcy Dunst again. Seems like we’re playing a bit of phone tag, I guess. I was calling about the paint color, “Grecian Coast”? I talked to the manufacturer and they informed me that you were the creator of that paint color. I just had a few questions, more out of simple curiosity than anything. Anyway, sorry I missed you and if you get a chance, give me a call back, I believe you have the number. Thanks!”

<<CLICK>>

Message received Tuesday, May 13, 2009. Press ONE to save, THREE to delete 
or NINE for more options.

Welcome to Voicemail, you have one new message. First message received on 
May 13, 2009 at 10:58 p.m.

“Marcy, it’s Ernest again. Sounds like you went to a lot of trouble to track me down… I have to admit, I am intrigued. I’d love to speak with you, and answer any questions you may have about “Grecian Coast”. Honestly, no one has ever really been interested in my work before. Can’t wait to hear back from you.”

<<CLICK>>

End of new messages.

Welcome to the Phone Mail System. Please enter your PIN followed by the 
# sign. You have ONE new message. Message ONE:

“Ernest, it’s Marcy. This is quite the game we have going! I wanted to pick your brain a bit about the inspiration behind the color. I’m half Greek you see, and about 15 years ago, while I was visiting some of my relatives back in Smyrna I saw this exact color. I took a snapshot of it and have carried it around with me ever since. Long story long, haa haa, I’ve never been able to find the exact match anywhere…until I spotted your “Grecian coast” at this little hardware store. Anything you can tell me about it would be welcome. Thanks again and can’t wait to speak to you too!”

<<CLICK>>

Message received Wednesday, May 14, 2009. Press ONE to save, THREE to delete 
or NINE for more options.

Welcome to Voicemail, you have one new message. First message received on 
May 15, 2009 at 12:01 p.m.

“Hi Marcy, it’s Ernest again, but please call me Ernie from now on. Thought I’d try giving you a call at a different time, but you must be at lunch or something. I was really moved by your message. You sound like a really unique individual. My inspiration came from my own visit to Greece, when I was about 10 years old. I honestly don’t remember the specifics, only that when I think of Greece, this is what I see. Sorry, if that is too vague. Talk to you soon.”

<<CLICK>>

End of new messages.

Welcome to the Phone Mail System. Please enter your PIN followed by the 
# sign. You have ONE new message. Message ONE:

“Hi Ernie, I got your package, you are honestly the sweetest man I have ever met! Well, not met but… well you know what I mean. Where on earth did you find them? I haven’t had decent Kourabiedes since I was a little girl! The room is finally done, I’m sure you would be proud to see it. I’ll send you some pictures of the space with the next package. Thanks again for my sweet treats… I love you, Ernie.

<<CLICK>>

Message received Wednesday, May 11, 2011. Press ONE to save, THREE to delete
 or NINE for more options.

Welcome to Voicemail, you have one new message. First message received on
 May 11, 2011 at 8:03 p.m.

“Hi love, so glad you got them and are enjoying them. I can’t wait to see your handiwork on the room, I’m sure it’s perfection. In fact, I’m so anxious to see it, I decided to hop on a plane so I could see my ‘Grecian coast’ and Grecian beauty in all of their splendor. I know this is a big step, since we have never actually spoken to each other over the last two years, but I can’t wait any longer. So see you soon, Marcy, my sweet. I love you.”

<<CLICK>>

End of new messages.

Welcome to the Phone Mail System, please enter your PIN followed by 
the # sign. You have FOUR new messages. Message ONE:

“Hi Ernie? I tried listening to your last message, but the reception must have been bad or something because I couldn’t really understand what you were saying. Anyway, I hope it wasn’t anything too important. Just give me a call back when you get this, I have some big news. Ok, love you, bye.”

<<CLICK>>

Message received Wednesday, May 11, 2011. Press ONE to save, THREE to delete 
or NINE for more options. Message TWO:

“I’m not sure where you are, but I really need to speak to you. Voicemail simply will not do. I have to talk to you. Something big has happened and it’s really important to me. Please call me as soon as you get this. Can’t wait to hear your voice! I love you.”

<<CLICK>>

Message received Wednesday, May 11, 2011. Press ONE to save, THREE to delete 
or NINE for more options. Message THREE:

“Well, I really wanted to tell you this in person, but I guess you don’t have your phone with you or something. So here goes… I’m moving to Greece. I’m at the airport now, and am about to board. Shocker right? I still can’t believe it, everything all sort of happened so quickly. I received a call from the big contractor I told you about, you know, the ones who needed an interior decorator for the renovations of the National Art Gallery and Alexander Soutzos Museum in Athens? Well, I got the job! I guess their first choice backed out and they need me immediately. I am so sorry to tell you like this, but I was hoping… somehow… maybe you could meet me there? I————“

<<CLICK>>

Message received Thursday, May 12, 2011. Press ONE to save, THREE to delete 
or NINE for more options. Message FOUR:

“Sorry, I got cut off. So I was saying, I really want you to think about coming over to Greece. I can’t imagine my life without you, as silly as that may sound since we have never actually been in each other’s lives… but I was kind hoping we could change that? OK, I have to go, they are calling for final boarding. I will call you again when I land. I love you and I hope you will consider coming to the Grecian coast… and to me.”

<<CLICK>>

Welcome to Voicemail, you have one new message. First message received on 
May 12, 2011 at 9:35 a.m.

“This will be the last time you hear my voice. I don’t know what sick game you’ve been playing at for the last two years, but you must be one messed up chick to string me along like this. I’m at your house, Marcy, if that’s even your name. I’m at the address you claimed to be yours all this time and guess what I see? A ‘for rent’ sign. I thought this was real. I loved you. Don’t bother calling me back. I’m changing my number. Goodbye.”

<<CLICK>>

End of new messages.

 —

“I’m sorry, the number you have dialed has been disconnected. Please hang 
up and try again.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Not So Fantastic Reality:

The above story was inspired by the following tidbits I encountered today:

ONE:      So I have been playing phone tag at work with this particular person. For the last month and a half we have been going back and forth, never able to reach the other party. I would be at lunch, he was away from his desk, yada, yada, yada. It was the longest game of ‘tag’ I can remember having… neither of us was willing to give up or try and different number, oh no, it had become a challenge. Well, today, I finally spoke with him. I thought he might have been a little miffed about our failure to connect, but he was perfectly cordial. We had about a 15 minute conversation and hung up. That was it. Seemed a bit anti-climactic, in all honestly. So I added my own twist. NOTE: Never was the tone of the actual conversational anything but professional in nature. (I mean the guy was old enough to be my dad, for cryin out loud). No offense, pops…

TWO:     I finally started on a project I have been talking about for ages and have never actually set to work on. I’ve had this vision of turning my guest room into a Grecian-inspired room, the walls that blue you see all over on the coast of Greece, white furnishings, nautical/beachy trimmings complete with actual driftwood I’ve been collecting… I had it all planned out. So I slapped some paint on ¼ of a wall today, mostly just to jump start the whole thing (I have kind of a motivation problem when it comes to chores I don’t want to do…like painting). There is still a LOT of work to be done, but at least I’ve started.

I gots mad painting skills...

Love & Squirrels.

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

Leave a Reply

