RSS Feed

Happy Birthday to Me!

Posted on

Ugh… today, I turn 30. Go ahead and groan, cue the black balloons & knowing sighs of the emotional breakdown we all know is coming… sigh. Despite my inability to completely grasp this reality, I thought it may be of some use (should I awaken from this self-induced age-obliviousness) to document this milestone year in some way.

And so, I’ve decided to write little stories based on things I encounter during my day. There are so many fascinating things all around me, why not write them down?

And that’s what I plan to do. Every day.

I must confess, this little exercise is also an attempt to adhere to the proverbial “stop and smell the roses” creed. I want to force myself to slow down, look around and take notice of the multitude of fascinating events, sights, conversations, ideas etc. I come across every time I stumble out of my door. I am determined to become an active participant in my own life (and stretch my writing ‘skills’ a little… Lord knows I need the help!).

THE PROJECT:

Every day I will jot down seemingly mundane events, be it a conversation I overheard, an article I read, something I saw or smelled… anything, really.

Then, dusting off my imagination, and ignoring that urge to nap instead, I will record these events in such a way that they seem extraordinary, whimsical and simply fantastical.

I’ll also include a short explanation of what actually happened for those curious souls out there.

So that’s it- 365 days of my 30th year on this dome chronicled in 356 stories detailing my awesomely dull daily activities as told by the imagination of one very silly, twisted and mostly bored individual (ahem, that would be me).

NOTE: I’ve never been real great at sticking to anything, my house is filled with half-started and half-assed projects that will, in all likelihood, remain eternally incomplete, but I am determined to see this one through, dang it!

Wish me luck and thanks for reading!

Stay tuned for story #1.

Love & Squirrels.

 

About samshine20

Writing a fictious story based on my day's events... every day. Apparently this is how I celebrate turning 30. That's me! ...just a girl with dream. And a blog.

2 responses »

  1. Sounds like a recipe for adventure. Count me in as fan #1.
    Andy.

    Reply
  2. I’m expecting great things from my wee twim. xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

